Iris van Herpen X Frida Kahlo

Hello lovelies!

I visited the Dallas Museum of Art back in May & got to see 2 AMAZING exhibitions & I wanted to share my experience & my thoughts.

The first exhibition I saw was the Iris van Herpen: Transforming Fashion exhibit. This exhibit was the main reason I made the almost hour trip to Dallas. If I could describe this exhibition in one word, it would be astonishing . I was completely amazed & mesmerized by the sheer talent of Van Herpen. So much that when I was looking at a design, I had to be asked to step back because I was too close. As someone who appreciates & loves fashion, it is amazing to see how a designer can transcend & innovate the traditional views of fashion.

A little background information on Iris Van Herpen:

  • She was born in The Netherlands
  • She received her education at the ArtEZ Institute of the Arts Arnhem where she graduated in 2006 with a degree in Fashion Design
  • She interned for Alexander McQueen & Claudy Jongstra

Van Herpen is known for her sculptural & experimental use of mixed materials outside of fabric for her designs. She is also known for her use of 3D printing in her garments. Her designs are far from ordinary & sit on the line between Avant Garde & art. Celebrities such as Beyoncé, Björk, & Lady Gaga have all worn Van Herpen’s garments.

Here are a few of my favorites from the exhibition

IMG_0954
The center & welcoming display

IMG_0958

IMG_0960

IMG_0955

IMG_0820

IMG_0819

 

The second exhibition I saw was the México 1900–1950: Diego Rivera, Frida Kahlo, José Clemente Orozco, and the Avant-Garde exhibit. I was very excited to finally get to see Frida Kahlo’s artwork in person as she is one of the great women in history that I admire. It was also very exciting to see Mexican artists headline their own exhibition. I am very prideful of my culture and strongly believe in individuals exploring & experiencing elements of their culture & others. If I had to choose one word to describe this exhibit, I would have to say that it is vibrant. The variety in art was also very pleasant to experience walking throughout the gallery. The use of video projections, tapestries, & traditional canvas art made the exhibit anything but boring. I definitely enjoyed getting a glimpse into my own culture & the history of Mexico.

IMG_0821
The infamous Las Dos Fridas

IMG_0823

IMG_0953
Amazing work featuring embroidery all done by hand

 

Overall I loved my trip to the DMA, it was well worth it! I am planning on going back this weekend to view the Mexico exhibit again. If any of you find yourself in Dallas in the near future definitely come check this out! I hope you all enjoy! I’ve also linked the DMA’s website if you want more information!

https://www.dma.org/art/exhibitions

 

♥Michelle

Leave a Reply

